View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2008, 04:34 PM
John Holmes
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default SPAM Text Message Questions

Last night, just before midnight, I received a SPAM text message as follows:

"from market@fastloanopt.com

Subject: loan. 1500 loan, no credit check

Message:No credit check or fax needed, instant online approval.
wwwfastloanopt.com"


How they got my Sprint mobile number, in order to send me that SPAM, is
unknown. I give my number only to a few family members.

This morning I went to that web site on my regular Internet browser, and it
is parked--it is not even activated!

It seems that, even had I responded to the text message, I would not have
been considered for a "loan."

So what gives? What is the point in some SPAMMER sending messages and using
an invalid return URL? Are they phishing?

I phoned Sprint and they blocked further messages from that sender, but I am
curious as to what the objective was in sending me the message in the first
place.

Anyone know what's going on???



Reply With Quote