On Mar 15, 9:34 pm, "David H. Lipman" <DLipman~nosp...@Verizon.Net>
wrote:
> From: "a_monk" <dfox...@hotmail.com>
>
> | Lately I received a number (phishing) mails from a bank asking for
> | confirmation. In the message, there was a URL:
> |
> |https://www1.royalbank.com/cgi-bin/r...=1&F21=IB&F22=...
> |
> | However, when I moved my mouse pointer to the beginning on the URL, at
> | the bottom of the screen, it showed the following instead.
> |
> |http://163.23.70.201/http/www1.royal...access/F21=IB&...
> |
> | First of all, the link seems not using SSL (http instead of https).
> | Secondly, when I pinged 163.23.70.201, there was no response.
> |
> | I hesitate to click on the https:// link.
> |
> | Could someone help me understand what is it all about? Any info is
> | much appreciated.
> |
> | A Monk
>
> What part of Phishing don't you understand ?
>
> The screen shows; https://www1.royalbank.com but the HTML really points to;http://163.23.70.201
>
> http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois....0.201&email=on
>
> --
> Davehttp://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.htmlhttp://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm
What would happen if I clicked on the link?