View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:34 AM
David H. Lipman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How to interpret this?!

From: "a_monk" <dfox138@hotmail.com>

| Lately I received a number (phishing) mails from a bank asking for
| confirmation. In the message, there was a URL:
|
| https://www1.royalbank.com/cgi-bin/r...ntSign&LANG=EN
|
| However, when I moved my mouse pointer to the beginning on the URL, at
| the bottom of the screen, it showed the following instead.
|
| http://163.23.70.201/http/www1.royal...tSign&LANG=EN/
|
| First of all, the link seems not using SSL (http instead of https).
| Secondly, when I pinged 163.23.70.201, there was no response.
|
| I hesitate to click on the https:// link.
|
| Could someone help me understand what is it all about? Any info is
| much appreciated.
|
| A Monk

What part of Phishing don't you understand ?

The screen shows; https://www1.royalbank.com but the HTML really points to;
http://163.23.70.201

http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois....0.201&email=on

--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm



Reply With Quote