View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:44 AM
a_monk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How to interpret this?!

On Mar 15, 9:39 pm, "a_monk" <dfox...@hotmail.com> wrote:
> On Mar 15, 9:34 pm, "David H. Lipman" <DLipman~nosp...@Verizon.Net>
> wrote:
>
>
>
>
>
> > From: "a_monk" <dfox...@hotmail.com>

>
> > | Lately I received a number (phishing) mails from a bank asking for
> > | confirmation. In the message, there was a URL:
> > |
> > |https://www1.royalbank.com/cgi-bin/r...=1&F21=IB&F22=...
> > |
> > | However, when I moved my mouse pointer to the beginning on the URL, at
> > | the bottom of the screen, it showed the following instead.
> > |
> > |http://163.23.70.201/http/www1.royal...access/F21=IB&...
> > |
> > | First of all, the link seems not using SSL (http instead of https).
> > | Secondly, when I pinged 163.23.70.201, there was no response.
> > |
> > | I hesitate to click on the https:// link.
> > |
> > | Could someone help me understand what is it all about? Any info is
> > | much appreciated.
> > |
> > | A Monk

>
> > What part of Phishing don't you understand ?

>
> > The screen shows; https://www1.royalbank.combut the HTML really points to;http://163.23.70.201

>
> >http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois....0.201&email=on

>
> > --
> > Davehttp://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.htmlhttp://www.ik-cs.c...

>
> What would happen if I clicked on the link?- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -


Where could one report this crime?


Reply With Quote