Go Back   Wireless and Wifi Forums > News > Newsgroups > comp.security.misc
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2007, 11:35 PM
DrZaius
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default what would cause this ??


PC belonging to a friend.

Friend clicks on a link to a website:

http://sajpj.eaqcfmc.cn/bupkgwd.html

What happened next, is supposedly the
printer attached to the PC, proceeded
to print off 94 pages of random words &
gibberish sentences.

The website link above is no longer
in service.

Question is, what kind of "attack" (if
this was one), was this ?

And, what was the source of the some 94
pages of words ? (since supposedly many
of the words / sentences in the pile of
paper were contents of emails the owner
had on the machine).

Any possible explanations for this ?

How could just visiting a website cause a
printer to spew out 94 pages of stuff ???







Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2007, 01:55 AM
Mark Trimble
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: what would cause this ??

Quoting DrZaius on Tue, 16 Oct 2007 19:35:55 -0400:

> PC belonging to a friend.
>
> Friend clicks on a link to a website:
>
> http://sajpj.eaqcfmc.cn/bupkgwd.html
>
> What happened next, is supposedly the
> printer attached to the PC, proceeded
> to print off 94 pages of random words &
> gibberish sentences.
>
> The website link above is no longer
> in service.
>
> Question is, what kind of "attack" (if
> this was one), was this ?...
>
> Any possible explanations for this ?
>
> How could just visiting a website cause a
> printer to spew out 94 pages of stuff ???


IN theory, it should be possible. Right (or wrong, depending on viewpoint)
settings in the OS and or the browser; right kind of script embedded in
the web page; just the right bug in just the right software....

I'd be more inclined to think in terms of user error - the user might have
accidentally hit the wrong button at the wrong time.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2007, 06:30 PM
Ant
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: what would cause this ??

"DrZaius" wrote:

> Friend clicks on a link to a website:
>
> hxxp://sajpj.eaqcfmc.cn/bupkgwd.html


That looks like the kind of link one sees in spam. A script redirects
to another site which should display the following:

ActiveX Object Error:
Your browser cannot display this image file.

You need to download new version of ActiveX
Object to view this image file.

To download and install ActiveX Object click Continue.

[Continue] [Cancel] [Details...]


Choosing [Continue] will present you with a Windows executable to run
(VideoAccessCodecInstall.exe). Choosing [Cancel] will send you into a
loop of dialogs (preventing the browser window from being closed)
until 'ok' is clicked, which has the same effect as [Continue].

This is the infamous Zlob trojan, installer of adware, bogus security
software and other malware.

> What happened next, is supposedly the
> printer attached to the PC, proceeded
> to print off 94 pages of random words &
> gibberish sentences.
>
> The website link above is no longer
> in service.


It is still live.

> Question is, what kind of "attack" (if
> this was one), was this ?


Social engineering.

> And, what was the source of the some 94
> pages of words ? (since supposedly many
> of the words / sentences in the pile of
> paper were contents of emails the owner
> had on the machine).


Perhaps the data was intended to be sent back to the attacker.

> How could just visiting a website cause a
> printer to spew out 94 pages of stuff ???


I suppose your friend installed the trojan in the hope of seeing some
pr0n. Who knows what damage it has done to the system.



Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2007, 09:40 PM
DrZaius
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: what would cause this ??


"Ant" <not@home.today> wrote in message
news:i_ydnZ_rXqu5yIvanZ2dnUVZ8s-qnZ2d@brightview.co.uk...
> "DrZaius" wrote:
>
> > Friend clicks on a link to a website:
> >
> > hxxp://sajpj.eaqcfmc.cn/bupkgwd.html

>
> That looks like the kind of link one sees in spam. A script redirects
> to another site which should display the following:
>
> ActiveX Object Error:
> Your browser cannot display this image file.
>
> You need to download new version of ActiveX
> Object to view this image file.
>
> To download and install ActiveX Object click Continue.
>
> [Continue] [Cancel] [Details...]
>
>
> Choosing [Continue] will present you with a Windows executable to run
> (VideoAccessCodecInstall.exe). Choosing [Cancel] will send you into a
> loop of dialogs (preventing the browser window from being closed)
> until 'ok' is clicked, which has the same effect as [Continue].
>
> This is the infamous Zlob trojan, installer of adware, bogus security
> software and other malware.
>
> > What happened next, is supposedly the
> > printer attached to the PC, proceeded
> > to print off 94 pages of random words &
> > gibberish sentences.
> >
> > The website link above is no longer
> > in service.

>
> It is still live.
>
> > Question is, what kind of "attack" (if
> > this was one), was this ?

>
> Social engineering.
>
> > And, what was the source of the some 94
> > pages of words ? (since supposedly many
> > of the words / sentences in the pile of
> > paper were contents of emails the owner
> > had on the machine).

>
> Perhaps the data was intended to be sent back to the attacker.
>
> > How could just visiting a website cause a
> > printer to spew out 94 pages of stuff ???

>
> I suppose your friend installed the trojan in the hope of seeing some
> pr0n. Who knows what damage it has done to the system.
>



supposedly, this person thinks someone they met
online, deliberately aimed the attack at one specific
machine (hers).

is there a way to find out who the site belongs to?

i tried the usual methods, but came up short. my
day job is working with aircraft, not computer
security.

all those who responded/will respond thanks.




Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2007, 08:08 PM
Ant
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: what would cause this ??

"DrZaius" wrote:

> supposedly, this person thinks someone they met
> online, deliberately aimed the attack at one specific
> machine (hers).


How so? It's just a link; there's no obligation to click it. And even
if you do, Windows won't directly run the executable but will first
ask what to do with it if subsequently, the scripted dialog on the
page was clicked.

> is there a way to find out who the site belongs to?
> i tried the usual methods, but came up short.


The standard way is to use 'whois' but Windows doesn't have that
application by default. There are several websites where you can do
a whois lookup.

In any case, that was just the first link in the chain. there are a
few domains and hosts involved before you get to the malware.

sajpj.eaqcfmc.cn (the host for the original link) -> runs a script at:
goodnserver.info -> loads a page at:
mystats.name -> redirects to:
themymoviessite.com -> loads the malware execuable from:
videowebsoft.com

The domain eaqcfmc.cn is registered in China. I can't tell which
registry because the name is in Chinese. sajpj.eaqcfmc.cn has IP
address 217.20.112.28 which I find belongs to netdirekt in Germany.

goodnserver.info is registered through EstDomains (Estonia) and its
IP (217.20.113.27) also belongs to netdirekt.

mystats.name gives no useful info about the registry or registrant but
its hosted by 'Beyond The Network America' in the US at IP address
205.177.122.130.

themymoviessite.com and videowebsoft.com are both registered through
EstDomains and share the IP address 81.29.249.27. This is hosted by
'LLC GlobalWholesaleTrade' in Moscow, Russia.

All the EstDomains registrant (domain owner) details are unavailable.
Looking at the providers and countries here, I wouldn't count on fast
action in taking anything offline but you may be lucky.



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45